A Healthy Transformation

A blog about diet, exercise, and health

It’s never too late to start. May 30, 2010

Filed under: General health — fitnessie @ 4:25 pm

You’ve heard this story a thousand times.  I’ve always struggled with my weight.  I was teased in school.  I’ve never been athletic.  I hated going to the gym.  And I loved pasta and ice cream.  Stereotypical, yes.  But true.

Three years ago, I started teaching.  While I had always been chubby, the combination of teacher’s room junk food and a complete lack of exercise (at least at college I was walking to and from school) made me balloon up from my normally pudgy 160lbs to the heaviest I’ve ever been– 180lbs.  My wake up call?  The summer after my first year teaching, I got a Wii Fit.  It measured my weight and, using my height (5’5″) calculated my BMI.  And out puffed my poor little Wii Fit Mii.  I watched the little needle on the BMI scale skyrocket upward, showing me that I was no longer just “overweight”– in two more lbs, I would officially be “obese”.

That was it for me.  I joined the YMCA and changed my diet.  Now, two years later, I’m proud to say that I’m in the best shape of my life!

As time goes on, I find myself becoming more and more involved in health and fitness.  As I become more involved in it, I find myself wanting to talk about it more and more.  And since I’m sure my friends are sick and tired of hearing me blab on about the wonders of rock climbing or my latest cooking venture, I decided to create this blog.  If you’re looking to make a healthy transformation of your own,  have an abundance of health and fitness knowledge, or are just curious, then read on.  I’ll talk about diet, exercise, general fitness, and maybe even post some more silly pictures of myself!  The possibilities are endless.

 

5 Responses to “It’s never too late to start.”

  1. steff Says:

    yay! i get to be your first commenter. way to go, ness! you look amazing in that picture. i can’t wait to read more! ❤ ❤

  2. Nicole Says:

    You look out of control amazing! You can blab about healthy cooking ventures to me anytime because I feel like I drive people crazy doing it too. I’m obsessed with the hungry girl cookbooks- check them out!!

  3. marko ljusic Says:

    wow vanessa! congratulations! You look incredible! I’m excited to read more about your transformation.

  4. Katy Says:

    Sweet jeebus, you look incredible! Makes me want to get up and do something 🙂

  5. Ruthie Says:

    Nessie, I’m SO proud of you ❤


Leave a Reply

