A Healthy Transformation

A blog about diet, exercise, and health

A Day in the Life of Nessie, Part 2 June 9, 2010

Filed under: Diet — fitnessie @ 4:34 am

First of all, thank you for all the food comments/advice!  I’ve officially bought flax meal instead of seeds– I was worried that it wouldn’t be as delicious, but I think it’s still just as tasty in my cottage cheese!

I should have mentioned that I’ll be posting continuations of this series once a week.  Since I didn’t update yesterday like I had planned, today will cover lunch with an extra snack bonus!  Before you lecture me on deadlines, realize that I didn’t just twiddle my thumbs yesterday– I typed up a guest-blog entry for my friend Steff’s blog, Steff Says.  Her blog is a big reason why I started my blog, so if you like my healthy living tips, you’ll love her health-centric posts!  I recently started stealing her five ingredient challenge idea, so go read about what I cooked last week!

Workday Lunch:  Southwestern-style Salad

Ingredients

  • romaine lettuce (as much as you want)
  • 1/2 cucumber
  • 1 Roma tomato
  • 1/4 cup low-fat shredded cheese
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 4 oz grilled chicken
  • 1/2 cup mild salsa (sugar-free)
  • 1/4 cup low-fat plain greek yogurt

Let me start this by explaining to you how I always ate my ice cream.  I’d take a scoop of ice cream, cover it in chocolate sauce, nuts, whipped cream, and whatever other sugary concoction was available until I basically had a bowl full of candy with a side of ice cream.

I apply this same theory to salads.  I want my salads to be mostly delicious topping, so this Chipotle-inspired salad is perfect for me.  The romaine lettuce is good for me, fills me up, but is barely noticeable beneath the gobs of rich and creamy goodies piled on top of it.  The best part?  All of those seemingly decadent toppings are actually good for me, but they don’t taste like it!  I don’t know how many times I’d bring this into work and people would ogle it and make a “That looks rich” comment.

I make this in the mornings before work, and since I’m always running late, I buy the pre-washed and cut romaine and pre-cooked and packaged Trader Joe’s chicken.  Salads are pretty self-explanatory– I throw the lettuce in a nice big Tupperware container, and then chop and add the 1/2 cucumber, tomato, avocado, and chicken.  I top it off with the yogurt, cheese, and salsa, and then just pop the lid on it and I’m off to work!  The best part is that I don’t miss Chipotle’s pricey salads after having one of these.

Weekend Lunch:  Greek Salad

Ingredients

  • romaine lettuce (as much as you want)
  • 1 Roma tomato
  • 1/2 cucumber
  • red onion
  • 4 oz grilled chicken
  • 1/4 cup feta cheese
  • oil & vinegar
  • 1/4 cup yogurt with dill, oregano, & chopped cucumber


This salad takes a little longer to make because of the homemade tzatziki and dressing.  The basics of salad making are the same– chop up your ingredients and throw them on a plate.  I add oregano, as much balsamic vinegar as I want, a little salt, and 1/2 TBSP extra virgin olive oil together to make the dressing.  For the tzatziki I mix the yogurt with the dill, oregano, a little bit of chopped cucumber, and a little bit of feta.  If you grill the chicken yourself, feel free to grill it with lemon and oregano to give it that chicken souvlaki feel!

Bonus: Snacks!

Single Serving Bags of Almonds

These single serving bags of raw, unsalted almonds from Trader Joe’s is great for portability and controlling my portion size– when I buy the big bags, my hands magically grow to hold more almonds than anybody should eat.

Larabars

The great part about Larabars isn’t that they are raw and have no preservatives– it’s how good they are!  The ingredients list on these bad boys is impressively short.  My favorite is apple pie.  Ingredients:  dates, almonds, unsweetened apples, walnuts, raisins, cinnamon.  That’s it.  Be careful with these though– they are high in carbohydrates and highly addictive!

Cucumber “Chips” with Guacamole

This snack is great if you’re home and looking for something to munch on while watching TV.  Slice up 1/2 a cucumber for the “chips”, and mash 1/2 avocado, add salsa, garlic salt, and sprinkle with feta for the guacamole.  Easy and delicious!

Zucchini “Chips”

These are another great TV munchie if you’ve got a little more time on your hands! Combine 1/4 cup almond meal, basil, rosemary, parsley, and garlic salt in a bowl.  Add water till you get a gooey-ish mixture.  Press onto some sliced zucchini and saute on medium heat in about 1 TBSP olive oil.  Turn over once until the breading is brown on both sides, and flip them onto a paper towel to soak up the extra oil.

I’m always looking for more lunch/snack ideas, so I’d love to hear about some of your regulars!  I plan on having a dinner update next Monday, so be sure to check in– I hope these can tide you over till then!


 

2 Responses to “A Day in the Life of Nessie, Part 2”

  1. Hellz yeah, Larabars! I couldn’t eat one in front of you without you stealing at least half from me.


Leave a Reply

