A Healthy Transformation

A blog about diet, exercise, and health

Snack attack! July 14, 2010

Filed under: Diet — fitnessie @ 3:47 am

I admit it;  I’m an impulse buyer.  I walk through the grocery store always on the lookout for some new tasty, healthy snack to entice me.  I’m a big snack fan, and in Arizona I have my snacky standby of chocolate covered pomegranate seeds and Larabars.  But in NJ groceries, I’m like a kid in a candy store– they have so many new snack options that I’ve never seen before, it’s hard to choose!  I settled on two unfamiliar yet tasty looking snacks today.

Snack #1:  Dry Roasted Edamame I’ve seen roasted edamame before and always wanted to try them, so when I saw this colorful bag I couldn’t resist picking it up and taking a look.  I always check the list of ingredients and nutritional information on any supposedly “healthy” snack.  This only had two ingredients– edamame and salt (no oil!), and is high in fiber and protein and low in carbohydrates.  It seemed too good to be true, but I decided to take it home and try it out for myself.  And the verdict was…

Delicious!

I was pleasantly surprised!  They were crunchy with the perfect amount of salt and highly adddictive– I had to stop myself from eating the whole bag!  But even if I had, I like the fact that the whole bag only has about 450 calories in it– still too many for a snack, but not so terrible that it would ruin your diet if you couldn’t stop yourself.  It has enough protein and fiber to even be a potentially healthy meal replacer in a pinch.  I’ll definitely be looking for these in Arizona!

Snack #2: Cranberry Almond KIND Bar

I’ve seen these tasty-looking bars around before, but they’re never good looking enough to make me stray from my favorite apple pie Larabar.  But without a Trader Joes or Whole Foods in sight, these little bars started looking better and better, so I decided to give them a try.  They have a relatively short ingredient list– not Larabar short, but still pretty good in comparison to other “health food bars” on the market.  So, I took it home and convinced my mom to share a bar with me for a snack, hoping that it would be KIND to my taste buds.  The verdict?

I think the picture says it all.  We couldn’t even choke down this stale, overly sweet “healthy” snack.  The cranberries were sickeningly sweetened and the macademia nuts in it tasted so stale we couldn’t even enjoy them– even though bar wasn’t supposed to expire until 2011.  Needless to say, they are NOT worth the money– they were $2.00 a piece, more than the so much tastier Larabars I usually eat!  Oh well, live and learn from my mistakes– save your money and skip the KIND bar.  The forty five minute drive to get the Larabar would have been more than worth getting a snack I could actually enjoy.

So, what are your favorite snacks?  Have you tried a new one recently?  Or can you warn me against any misleading goodies that I might waste my money on?

 

7 Responses to “Snack attack!”

  1. My KIND bar was a very similar experience.

    So much out there that to the eye looks decent but oh my. I know for a fact they could easily make it better but….maybe one day soon.

  2. steff Says:

    i actually LOVE kind bars!! i’ve never tried that flavor but i love the fruit+nut & coconut+apricot flavors. i actually like them more than larabars! i’m big on texture thought i love the crunchy/chewy combo. mmm.

    i like the dry roasted edamame too but if i eat more than a handful of it it gives me tummy ache.

    there’s a website i heard about where you can get custom granola bars made…i’ve been dying to try it. i am in the need of some new snackage.

    • steff Says:

      thought = though. i should really proofread before hitting submit.

    • fitnessie Says:

      I had to wonder if i happened to get a bad batch of kind bars… or maybe just a bad flavor. It really tasted stale, though! 😦 Maybe i’ll give one of the other flavors I got a try before I chuck it…
      Customized granola bars sounds awesome! I’ll have to check it out…

  3. Katy Says:

    I love Mrs. May’s crunches. I just bought the Trio bars to give them a second try– my first time was a year and a half or so ago, and my diet has changed tremendously since then! Hope I like ’em!


Leave a Reply

