A Healthy Transformation

A blog about diet, exercise, and health

A Week Recorded: Day 2 August 3, 2010

Filed under: Diet,Exercise,General health,Recipes — fitnessie @ 6:47 am

Before I start, I wanted to post a link to this article a friend showed me.  Hooray for good health!  Now, on to Sunday.

8:00a.m.:  I was a little hungry yesterday, so I decided to have a more substantial breakfast before Bikram.  I had a cup of PG Tips with fat-free milk and stevia, and a cup of cottage cheese with 3 strawberries, 1 TBSP ground flax, stevia, cinnamon, and vanilla.

10:00 a.m.-11:30 a.m.:  Bikram yoga!  I was a little sore from the day before, but I was still proud of myself for going and actually feeling good!  I decided to take tomorrow off, though.

12:30 p.m.:   After a shower, I was once again voracious, so I made myself another big salad variant.  This time, it was romaine, 1/4 cup of shaved Parmesan cheese, 15 small shrimp, 1/4 of an avocado, 4 Greek olives, 1/2 a cucumber, 1 garden tomato, and about a cup of mild salsa.

3:00 p.m.:  After vegging out on the couch and talking with my best friend for about an hour, I decided it was time to hit the clay co-op.  But before I left, I grabbed a single serving bag of raw almonds, one of my favorite on-the-go snacks.  They are the perfect size and cost the same as an un-portioned bag at Trader Joe’s.

3:30 p.m.-6:30 p.m.:  I had a very productive time at the clay co-op!  I hadn’t thrown in a few months, and I was a little rusty, but I got a few vases, a couple mugs, and a set of four mugs done.

7:15 p.m.: I was pretty hungry, but I wanted to try jogging at Sabino Canyon, so I grabbed a brownie Luna Bar and headed out the door!

8:00 p.m.-8:20 p.m.:  I got to Sabino Canyon much later than I expected, especially after missing the turn for it.  When we finally got there, it was pretty dark– darker than I would have liked (and too dark for any pictures)– but we still went for about a two-mile run.  It was a little hard with the hills at first, and we had to turn around right when the path started to get interesting and we could hear all the running water from the wash below.  I definitely want to go back a bit earlier sometime so I can appreciate this run, go further, and start training for the half marathon I want to run!

10:00 p.m.:  This is a lot later than I usually like to eat, but after the run, I still had to go to the grocery store and cook dinner.  Ian and I did our 5 ingredient challenge last night, and this is what he bought:

pineapple, onion, green bell pepper, green onions, and pork loin chops

I haven’t cooked a lot of Asian food, but Top Chef inspired me to do something a little different (and perhaps sexy), and make a sweet and spicy lettuce wrap for an entrée with a glass of orange, mango, pineapple juice as my “side”.

Buuuuut, unfortunately, that just wasn’t in the cards.  My juicer, that I hadn’t used in about four years, was very broken.  It wouldn’t even turn on.  Sadly, I had to scratch the juice idea.  I chopped all of the five ingredients, added macadamia nuts and mango, seasoned it with lots of chili powder, garlic, and soy sauce, and threw it all on a wok on medium heat with the lid on.  I added more soy sauce than I meant to, but in a way it was good since it kept the pork nice and moist.  I served up some pineapple and orange slices as a side.  Sort of a side cop-out, but Ian was very understanding.

Ian liked this dish MUCH more than I did.  I’m not a big soy sauce fan, and this was a little too salty and not enough spicy.  I also wish I cooked the pork first, and added all the other stuff later, since they lost of a lot of their texture and lacked the crunch I was hoping for.  All in all, it was a learning experience, and I’ll experiment with more Asian-style food in the future.  At least Ian ate the leftovers!

 

2 Responses to “A Week Recorded: Day 2”

  1. FitGirl7 Says:

    What half marathon are you going to run?


Leave a Reply

