A Healthy Transformation

A blog about diet, exercise, and health

How do I beat the blahs? August 20, 2010

Filed under: General health — fitnessie @ 8:46 pm

Everyone has blah days.  I woke up today much later than I wanted, feeling bloated and groggy and gross.  Yesterday was a hungry day for me.  I’m not sure why, but my body just screamed at me all day to  eat eat eat eat! And I listened.  I even treated myself to Chinese food for dinner.  Aside from chowing down on a (free) egg roll, my entrée was actually technically “healthy”:  1/2 an order of no oil/no rice noodle vegetarian lettuce wraps.  But Chinese food=soy sauce, and soy sauce=salty bloated mess.  Later on that night, I ate at least half of a giant bowl of popcorn I told my boyfriend I probably “would only eat a little of” (by the way, if I ever say this to you when we get food together, be prepared to lose at least half of what you’ve ordered to me).   Salt, salt, salt.  And then I weighed myself this morning.

Now, while I don’t think I actually gained 3lbs, I do think I’m retaining about 3lbs of water weight.  And it feels gross.  I’m going to do Bikram today, and I’ll be sure to sweat it all out (and then some) there, but that doesn’t stop me from feeling the gross bloaties right now.

So, I feel bad about myself.  Instead of wallowing in pity, I thought it would be nice to use this opportunity to tell the blogging world a little bit about me, and what makes me happy!

1.First and foremost, I think my wonderful boyfriend Ian deserves some credit.  I met him last year from an online dating website called OKCupid.  Dorky, right?  But when I logged onto the site and spotted his profile, the side bar showed me a list of people I’d also like to meet– all of which were my actual real life friends.  I thought this guy deserved at least a message!

We’re celebrating our one year anniversary sometime around the end of this month.  He’s an amazing, intelligent, patient, sweet, adorable man, and I feel very lucky to have him.

2.  My kitties, Olive and Lucy!  I love them more than any human should love an animal.  It’s a good thing they’re immortal and will live forever!  You’ve already seen the little fatso Olive stealing my popcorn, but I think it’s about time I introduced Lucy.  I realize that I could never have two children because I would play favorites, and Lucy is by far my favorite.  She’s a fluffy, skittish, loving ball of fur who can be very, very vocal.  Recently, to help her with the massive amount of shedding she’s been experiencing (I constantly have to pick up “little” Lucys from the carpet) and to eliminate the poo/fur dilemma, I had her shaved like a lion.  It’s appropriate because of the amount of roaring she does.

3.  My mom.  I’m so incredibly lucky to have a parent as supportive as her.  She’s always been there for me, believed in what I do, and helped me any way she can.  She’s also an incredibly strong, smart woman, and I hope I look half as good as her when I’m her age!  We live pretty far from each other (I’m in Arizona, and she’s in NJ– where I was born and raised).  I have a small family and gone through some rough family times, so I’m especially thankful that I have her to count on.  Also, I need to credit her for most of my cooking skills, and admit that a lot of the recipes I cook or post are in some way or shape stolen from her!

4.  My artwork.  I love that I have that creative outlet in my life.  Recently I’ve been working on mostly function wheel-thrown clay pieces and small glass sculptures/jewelry.  But doing artwork (just like exercise) is just one of the things in my life that keep me sane and happy.  I love getting hands-on with projects, getting messy, and being productive!  Also, I love making things for friends, which I’ve been doing a lot of lately.

Some of my latest clay work…

Small glass shell pendants

5.  My tooth!!  No, not the one in my mouth.  My best friend Ruthie!  I’m not really even entirely sure when the nickname “tooth” came around (nor can I vouch for how much she likes it) but there’s no denying that I ❤ Tooth.  She’s one of the coolest, down to earth, silliest, intelligent, most beautiful girls in the world, and I am so so so grateful to have a friend like her in my life.  She, too, is located in NJ, and while I do go through tooth withdrawal for most of the year, I have faith one day the universe (and a moving truck) will bring us closer together.  We’ve been friends since high school and have seen each other through thick and thin.  Whenever I am feeling funky, I know that she’s only a phone call away, and she somehow always magically makes me feel better and more confident about myself.

Five years ago… She’ll always be a redhead in my mind!

This past summer!

There, I feel better already!   I’m almost looking forward to the next time I’m feeling blah!

 

3 Responses to “How do I beat the blahs?”

  1. Ruth Says:

    *blushes* I was not expecting that! And as with you; you will always be my Nessie. I know I have a friend for life, a genuine, amazing friend who means everything to me. I have faith as well that the universe will bring us a wee bit closer! As for then, I will look forward to the summers, the winter holidays, and when I get enough $ and time to see you again! ❤ ❤ ❤
    p.s. excited for the mugs! I'm still working on my masterpiece for you 🙂
    p.p.s. HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!
    p.p.p.s. your mom is awesome!

  2. Loved your pics as usual!!! Your bf sounds like a great guy!!! Your mom is beautiful! And it’s so awesome to have good friends isnt it? 🙂

    I also have been a big bloated mess this week. Icky!!!

  3. xristinejoyce Says:

    Great strategy for the banishing the blahs AND OMG! What a difference from your five year pic! You go girlie!


Leave a Reply

