A Healthy Transformation

A blog about diet, exercise, and health

Switching it Up: A Healthy Experiment August 28, 2010

Filed under: Diet,General health — fitnessie @ 5:43 pm

Recently, I’ve felt a little bored with my daily diet.  I feel good, I’m slowly losing weight, but I just want something a little different!  And then I got my Health magazine last month, and the answer stared at me from the front cover:

Carb lovers diet, you say?  I’m immediately skeptical of any “fad” diet, so I asked Ian to check the book out of Borders for me so I could read it and decide whether or not I really thought it was “healthy”.

All in all, I find it somewhat interesting.  It involves eating a lot of foods high in fiber, lean protein, and veggies.  It pushes “resistant starches”, which I don’t really quite understand but are apparently all up in bananas, potatoes, corn, beans, and whole grains, which are all things I really like (especially bananas. Mmmm.).  The first week calls for a very strict diet of meals planned out by them and afterward a 21 day “immersion” plan that is less strict.

Well, if you’re curious as the whether or not it works, I’ll be your guinea pig!  Let me start out by saying ANY calorie restrictive diet is going to make you lose weight.  That’s why all those crazy diets– like only eating “red” foods– works.  Truth be told, you could just eat a snickers bar and a coke every day and lose weight.  The key is finding a diet that makes you feel good, full of energy, and healthy, AND helps you shed weight.  I’m a little nervous because I’ll be eating MUCH less on this diet (the book just SWEARS that carbs make you feel fuller and that it’s OK, but I’m a little skeptical).  But I’m excited to switch it up, and to eat a banana every day!  I’m a little nervous that the three small meals and one snack won’t satiate my hunger, especially with all the exercise I do, but if I start to feel unhealthy, I’ll stop.

So I went to the grocery store yesterday and stocked up on $100.00 worth of resistant carb filled goodies!  I am going to try to do EXACTLY what the book says, since if I’m testing out their theory that seems only fair.  So if you’re thinking of switching up your diet or if you just want to see how long I’ll make it or what will happen to me on this crazy diet, then read on!  I”ll do my best to update with my meals and progress everyday.

If you want to try it out yourself, here’s my grocery list!

  • rye bread
  • bananas (green)
  • almond butter
  • rolled oats
  • chopped walnuts
  • 1% milk
  • berries
  • garbanzo beans
  • mixed greens
  • Parmesan cheese
  • dried cranberries
  • frozen chicken breast
  • spinach
  • red pepper
  • whole grain pitas
  • rykrisp crackers
  • black beans
  • corn tortillas
  • cheddar cheese
  • whole grain rotini pasta
  • onion
  • tomato
  • zucchini
  • Progresso high fiber minestrone
  • frozen stir fry veggies
  • brown rice
  • sliced almonds
  • dark sesame oil
  • low sodium soy sauce
  • frozen salmon
  • potatoes
  • shredded carrots
  • corn tortilla chips
  • Greek yogurt
  • cornflakes
  • potato chips
  • Amy’s black bean veggie enchiladas
  • whole grain buns
  • veggie burgers

If you want to try it along with me (or try it after you see how I fair on it) and not have to spend money on the book, there you go!  I’ll post what I ate today tomorrow, complete with recipes and pictures.  Now, I’m going to go make myself a banana shake!

 

8 Responses to “Switching it Up: A Healthy Experiment”

  1. Ruth Says:

    I’m curious how this will turn out for you! Keep us updated!!!

    I should share this AMAZING recipe with you.

    Freeze some overripe bananas, and when you want a good balance of carb/protein treat, take a frozen banana, slice it up, tbsp of almond butter, and 1/2 cup of milk and blend together. It makes ice cream! SO GOOD.

    I’m curious about what they mean by ‘resistant starches.’ I know that when there is fiber in food, you basically just subtract those grams from the total carbohydrates. The carbs in beans, as well, don’t act as “normal” carbs and balance out from the protein in the beans. Beans are just amazing protein to eat! Full of good nutrients as well, try flax tempeh sometime! That is my absolute favorite!
    Good luck!

    • Ruth Says:

      Just because I was quite curious, I researched what resistant carbs were, because eating potatoes for a diet was a little weird sounding to me. Usually they say “stay away from corn and potatoes, they are starches!”

      Did you know you need to eat them at room temperature? Apparently, the starches in those foods “crystallize” when they cool down to room temperature, making it pass through the small intestine, and it ferments in the large intestine. But, when heated or re-heated, it breaks up the crystals and your body will digest it as glucose.

      I say, eat lots of fiber! I know you do with psyllium hulls and various veggies.

      I’ll let you in on a secret I do. Since I have … reproductive issues and borderline insulin-resistance, I am back taking one tbsp of apple cider vinegar with a glass of water. This helps stabilize blood sugar levels after a meal (drink 1/2 hour before). It has properties like the medication ‘metformin’. It also helps clean the liver, and when filtered through the liver it turns alkaline, which helps fight of disease and general feeling like crap. I’ve been doing a lot of research on it. They actually have scientific studies done too! 😛 So I’m going to give this a whirl. Also helps people lose weight with it. But not drop pounds; slowly over time.

      • fitnessie Says:

        How do you not cook a potato?? Or can you cook it and then eat it at room temperature and then it’s OK?

      • Ruth Says:

        haha, no no! You cook the potato, then let it cool.

        “Keep it cool
        In cooked starchy foods, resistant starch is created during cooling. Cooking triggers starch to absorb water and swell, and as it slowly cools, portions of the starch become crystallized into the form that resists digestion. Cooling either at room temperature or in the refrigerator will raise resistant starch levels. Just don’t reheat. That breaks up the crystals, causing resistant starch levels to plummet.”

        http://today.msnbc.msn.com/id/23189188

  2. steff Says:

    oh nessie, “diets” make me so nervous. the focus on things being “off limits” and “bad” can really easily reinforce an unhealthy relationship with food. obviously you know your body, but please be careful. remember…weight loss does not equal healthy!

  3. xristinejoyce Says:

    Hi fitnessie! Sorry I’ve been MIA and not keeping up with you. This sounds interesting!! And who new that potatoes and corn could be resistant! Can’t wait to read all about it. Just curious though…around how many calories were you eating before and how many will you be eating on this plan?


Leave a Reply

