A Healthy Transformation

A blog about diet, exercise, and health

Carb Lovers Diet, Day 2 August 31, 2010

Filed under: Diet,General health,Recipes — fitnessie @ 4:05 am

Weight:  138.2 (I’m down more than 1/2 a pound even after eating at the Cheesecake Factory, and eating more carbs in one day than I do all week!)

Exercise:  90 minute Bikram yoga class

Breakfast

Green Machine Smoothie

(see prior entry for recipe)

Lunch

Baja Chicken Taco with Brown Rice and Beans

I had two leftover tacos and a mess of beans and (supposedly) brown rice from The Cheesecake Factory, so I figured eating one for lunch and half of my leftover rice/bean mash would be a good idea.  Basically, it’s just grilled chicken, salsa, cabbage, avocado, sour cream, cheese and a spicy sauce I could have done without (it honestly didn’t taste very good) on a corn tortilla.  Easy to make at home, and you could eat two at home too if you didn’t eat the nasty sauce and subbed out low-fat Greek yogurt for the sour cream.

Snack

Greek Yogurt Parfait

  • 3/4 cup low-fat or fat-free Greek yogurt
  • 2 TSP honey
  • 2 TBSP oats
  • 3 strawberries

The “diet” doesn’t call for strawberries, but… I like strawberries!  So I added them.

Dinner

Grilled Salmon Salad with Baked Parmesan Potato

  • 3 oz Salmon
  • 2 cups mixed greens
  • 1/2 cup tomato
  • 2 TBSP fat-free balsamic vinaigrette
  • 1 medium-large potato
  • 2 TBSP Parmesan cheese
  • salt & pepper to taste

Spray the salmon and a pan with cooking spray and cook the salmon on medium heat until flakey (about 5 minutes each side).  While it’s cooking, heat potato in the microwave for 9 minutes (turn after 4 1/2 minutes).  Let it stand for five minutes (I made my salad while I waited) and then slice in half, add the Parmesan cheese, salt, and pepper, and eat!

So far, I have mixed feelings about this “diet”.  One HUGE con is, that while the meals fill me up, I feel hungry only a few hours later.  I may end up cheating and eating two snacks a day, especially because of how much I exercise.  One HUGE pro, however, is that it’s helping me have a healthier attitude towards starchy carbohydrates, which I’ve avoided like the plague.  I have almost a fear of carbs, and that I won’t be able to control myself around them.  However, once I’m done losing weight, I want to be able to have a HEALTHY relationship with carbs, especially sweet potatoes, beans and whole grains.  I’m hoping doing this for a week will prove to myself that carbs aren’t all evil and that I can control myself with them.  Let’s see!

 

2 Responses to “Carb Lovers Diet, Day 2”

  1. xristinejoyce Says:

    They aren’t evil and you can control yourself! I totally understand how you feel though! Totally!!

  2. […] again, identical to the dinner I had yesterday.  I had leftover salmon, and the dinner was so good I didn’t mind eating it two days in a […]


Leave a Reply

