A Healthy Transformation

A blog about diet, exercise, and health

Carb Lovers Diet, Day 4 September 2, 2010

Filed under: Diet,General health,Recipes — fitnessie @ 4:01 am

Weight: 137.8 (This weight makes more sense to me.  I bet I was dehydrated yesterday.)

Exercise:  75 minute cardio/strength YMCA class

Breakfast

Rye Toast with Almond Butter and Banana

  • 1 slice rye bread
  • 1 TBSP almond butter
  • 1 banana (as unripe as possible)

I actually had two slices of rye bread because otherwise the calorie count would be kind of low (one piece was on the smaller side, too).  I toasted the rye bread, then spread the almond butter on, and then added the sliced banana.  My banana was riper than it probably should have been, so I bought some new very green ones today.  It was a tasty breakfast, but I think I might like the smoothies better.

Impromptu Snack

Chocolate Chip Cookie

This wasn’t in the diet plan, but the mother of a student where I teach is famous for her amazing cookies, and she baked them for the first day of school.  I only had one pretty thin chocolate chip cookie, and it took all my willpower to not devour all the leftovers!

Lunch

6″ Subway Turkey Sandwich on 9 Grain Bread

(not nearly as pretty in person)

This little sandwich has under 400 calories and is filling and tasty.  I didn’t get any cheese or guacamole, but I did get most of the offered veggies, black olives, pickles, vinegar, and oregano.

Snack

Trailmix

This snack is quite filling and sustained me well through my workout!  The recipe can be found here.

Dinner

Chicken Pasta Primavera

  • 2 cups (dry) whole wheat pasta
  • 16oz chicken cut into small pieces
  • 2 zucchini
  • 1 onion
  • 1 cup tomatoes
  • 1 bag sliced & washed mushrooms
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 2 TSP olive oil
  • 4 TBSP Parmesan cheese

This recipe serves 4 (with about 3 1/2 -4 cups per serving).  While the pasta is boiling, cook the chicken in a big pan on the stove top.  When the chicken was almost done I chopped and threw the rest of the ingredients in the pan and let it all cook together.  Remember, whole wheat pasta takes longer to cook than regular pasta!  To cut down on dishes, I drained the cooked pasta, then put it back in the same pot (off the heat!) and  added the other ingredients to it (though I ended up having to strain them too because of all the water released from the cooked veggies).  I added salt, garlic pepper, and a TBSP of the Parmesan to my serving at the end (which was a huge heaping bowl of pasta!).

I tried to switch it up today!  It’s hard for me to believe I could eat that much pasta and lose weight, but I guess we’ll see.

 

3 Responses to “Carb Lovers Diet, Day 4”

  1. Simply Life Says:

    oh your breakfast looks great!

  2. steff Says:

    that looks like a delish day! 🙂

  3. Elena Says:

    It’s interesting to see because this was how I ate a lot before I got pregnant with Io, and dropped to my lowest weight yet. Totally unintentional, I just have a deep and profound affinity for carbs, so following a diet.


Leave a Reply

