A Healthy Transformation

A blog about diet, exercise, and health

Letting Go October 2, 2010

Filed under: Diet,General health — fitnessie @ 12:33 am

I’ve had a really hard past week.  A personal emergency meant that I couldn’t finish my Bikram challenge.  I took a break from the gym and from eating healthy (and for part of the time, eating altogether).  I’m starting to get myself back together now.

Sometimes you can’t control what happens around you, and life just starts happening to you.  I just had to let life happen to me.  I’m sad about not finishing my challenge, but that’s life.

I went from not eating at all, and losing 8lbs in three days, to just (binging) eating whatever I wanted for a week.  My body feels exhausted and malnourished, so I’ve decided to go sugar and mostly gluten-free this next month.  I know that October (with Halloween) is a heck of a month to pick to go sugar-free, but I realized how much I hate how I feel when I eat a lot of simple carbs like that.  And for the first time in my life, it has absolutely nothing to do with weight loss.

Gluten won’t be hard for me, though I have noticed how much indigestion I’ve had eating more gluten, especially flour.  I’m not going to start reading salad dressing labels, but I am going to stop eating products that are mostly gluten ( like breads/cakes).  The sugar stopping will be much more difficult, but I hate the cravings and the sick feel I have when I eat it.  I think I’ll feel better emotionally if I cut it out for the month.  Wish me luck!

 

4 Responses to “Letting Go”

  1. steff Says:

    eek, nessie. i’m so sorry it’s been a hard couple weeks for you. 😥 take care of yourself. does sugar free mean that you aren’t eating any fruit or anything either? please be sure you are getting some sort of carb energy to fuel those crazy work outs of yours! xoxo

  2. Katy Says:

    Oh no, is everything okay? Feel free to write me anytime, of course- I’d love to hear from you. Oh, and I need your address. Email it to me? ktrotter@uoregon.edu

  3. xj Says:

    I’m sorry you’ve had a hard time!! I’m glad you are back to taking care of yourself…that’s important!!


Leave a Reply

