A Healthy Transformation

A blog about diet, exercise, and health

Cheater, cheater pumpkin eater! October 22, 2010

Filed under: Diet,General health,Recipes,Restaurant — fitnessie @ 10:20 pm

As I warned in my last post, I did, in fact, cheat again.  Frost’s (a local gelato shop)  flavor of the month was pumpkin.  A medium cinnamon and pumpkin gelato was too much to resist!

That same night, I also had a slice of bread and calamari at Wildflower.  It was my first time there, and really a treat, so I didn’t want to miss out on my dining experience.  So, aside from that one night, I’ve been completely on track!

Fall is also one of my favorite food-times of the year.  Not only is it squash season, but it’s spaghetti squash season.  If you don’t know, spaghetti squash is this magical gourd that produces angel hair spaghetti that is always delicious.  I think it has special squashy powers.  The mystical reasons behind why something as magically delicious as a spaghetti squash would evolve are beyond me, but all I know is– it’s ridiculously good.  And a great, healthy pasta substitute for my gluten-free month!

Spaghetti Squash with Creamy Tomato Basil Sauce

Ingredients

  • spaghetti squash
  • 2 Roma tomatoes
  • fresh basil (~1/4 cup)
  • pine nuts (~1/4 cup)
  • garlic (1/2 head)
  • grated romano cheese (~1/4 cup)
  • milk (~1/4 cup)
  • sliced crimini mushrooms (optional)
  • salt & pepper to taste

Start by stabbing the spaghetti squash with a fork 4-5 times.  Then pop it in the microwave for 12 minutes, rotating it every 3 minutes to ensure even cooking.  While waiting, chop garlic and sautee the garlic and pine nuts.  Add basil, garlic, pine nuts, cheese, tomatoes, salt, pepper, and milk to blender or food processor and blend.  Then put in sauce pan and let simmer till the squash is ready.   At this point, if you want mushrooms you can sautee them as well (I liked the earthy texture they added).

After letting sit for 5 minutes, cut the spaghetti squash in half.  Use a spoon to scoop out the gloppy, seedy inside, then a fork to scrape the pasta out.  Put the pasta in a bowl, pour sauce and mushrooms over it, and toss together.  Voila!  I think that extra cheese makes everything better, so I always have a little extra Romano on the top.

Easy, fast, delicious, and healthy!

Also, if you’re in the market for a new tasty snack, try this recipe from Steff.  I just made it and it’s the perfect mid-afternoon snack!  Thanks Steff!

 

4 Responses to “Cheater, cheater pumpkin eater!”

  1. steff Says:

    ooh! i’m so glad you like the chickpeas! i have actually never cooked spaghetti squash. i’ve been keeping an eye out for it at the farmers market but haven’t seen any…maybe tomorrow. if so i am definitely trying this out!

  2. xj Says:

    That looks so good!!

  3. […] twice before but I had never attempted cooking it my self.  But ever since my friend Vanessa wrote this post singing the praises of spaghetti squash (and showing me that it can be cooked in the microwave) […]

  4. […] July, my friend Vanessa brought me indoor rock climbing for the first time ever!  It was exciting & fun-tacular.  But […]


Leave a Reply

