A Healthy Transformation

A blog about diet, exercise, and health

Home for the Holidays! December 24, 2010

Filed under: Diet,Exercise,General health,Recipes — fitnessie @ 6:02 pm

So, eating healthy this time of year is near impossible– but that doesn’t mean ALL healthy things have to go down the drain!

I haven’t done much exercise the past few weeks, and I could feel it.  I hate losing muscle!  So this trip home to NJ I resolved to exercise, in some way, everyday.  This is going to prove to be a challenge, since my Mom’s treadmill sadly bit the dust right before my trip!  But a resolution is a resolution, so on my first day here I bundled up and headed down to the beautiful outdoor public track at Hudson County Park.

By the time my Mom and I got out of the house it was already 3:15.  To my Arizona readers, I should explain that during the winter in NJ, it gets dark at like, 4:30.  So, the sun was already starting to go down.  Needless to say, I was incredibly thankful that my mom insisted we stop and get sweat bands to keep our ears warm.  And had an extra pair of gloves in her car.    I ran about 3 miles in about 30 minutes (I didn’t clock myself, but the cold air takes my breath away much quicker).    The run left me florid cheeked and winded (and somehow simultaneously hot and cold) but it felt great!

It was almost made infinitely better by this (re)gift from my Mom:

I actually gave this little guy to my mom a few years ago for Christmas, but after she read my blog post she admitted to me she never used it much, and that I could “borrow” it until she thought she’d get some more use out of it.  I reluctantly accepted, but am very glad i did.  It was GREAT to have on my run and will be a nice motivator for me to run outdoors more in Tucson!  I’ve also made the new addition of the new Kanye West song, Monsters, to my running playlist, and highly recommend the entire album.

Yesterday I did calisthenics (squats, push-ups, sit-ups, tricep dips, & calf raises) which I am TOTALLY sore from today.  Hopefully I’ll get out for another run today since there’s snow predicted for tomorrow!

Everyone knows this time of year is filled with sweets and I am definitely having my fair share.  So, after devouring an entire container of holiday cookies/chocolate, I decided that my mom and I should try out a recipe I got from a student for super amazing sugar/oil/butter free cookies!

Jordan’s Super Amazing Healthy Cookies

Ingredients

  • 2 bananas (mashed)
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter (sugar-free)
  • 1 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 dried fruit (I used raisins)
  • 1/2 cup nuts (I used pecans)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp all spice, ginger, cloves, or really any warm spice you want (though we sadly only had cinnamon)
  • 1 TBSP vanilla (optional)

Add the ingredients to a mixing bowl in the order they’re shown, stirring after each ingredient.  Then, spoon dough onto a greased cookie sheet.

You can make the portion sizes smaller than this if you want to.  I added pecans to the tops of half the cookies since my Mom’s boyfriend is allergic, but I think they’d be better mixed into the dough.  Bake them at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes.

When they came out of the oven I drizzled honey on top of them just to give them a little added sweetness/texture.  Fair warning:  these little cookies aren’t your typical holiday sugary sweet treat.  They taste more like little granola bars.  I think they’ll make great pre/post workout snacks! I’m also of thinking of making some variations to the recipe– either adding applesauce or just eliminating the flour entirely.

And of course, no holiday season would be completely without my Grandma’s homemade matzoh ball soup!  Normally we eat it together for Hanukkah, but since it came so gosh darn early this year, I had to have a belated bowl.

So happy holidays everyone!  Tonight I’ll be headed to a Spanish restaurant to celebrate my Mom’s boyfriend’s birthday, and tomorrow I’ll wake up and tear open gifts in front of our tree and then feast on our traditional Christmas pork roast!  What do you do for the holidays?  What are your healthy (or not so healthy) holiday plans?

 

Leave a Reply

